Plenary and invited speakers and abstracts

(for detailed schedule of all activities go here)

Plenary Sessions

Computational Physics

– Romeel Dave (University of the Western Cape, South Africa) [abstract]
– Luigi Del Debbio (University of Edinburgh, UK) [abstract]
– Brian Granger (California Polytechnic State University) [abstract]
– Helmut Katzgraber (Texas A&M University) [abstract]
– Steven Louie (University of California, Berkeley) [abstract]
– Yuko Okamoto (Nagoya University, Japan) [abstract]
– Ursula Roethlisberger (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland) [abstract]
– Sauro Succi (IAC-CNR, Rome, Italy) [abstract]
– Nandini Trivedi (Ohio State University) [abstract]
– Steven White (University of California, Irvine) [abstract]
– A. Peter Young (University of California, Santa Cruz) [abstract]

Enabling Technologies for Computational Science

– John Danskin (NVIDIA) [abstract]
– Karl Schulz (Intel) [abstract]
– Jim Sexton (IBM) [abstract]
– Thomas Sterling (CREST, Indiana University) [abstract]

Parallel sessions (Invited Speakers)

Classical statistical mechanics and complex systems
– Youjin Deng (University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China) [abstract]
– Werner Krauth (École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France) [abstract]
– Koji Hukushima (University of Tokyo, Japan) [abstract]
– Mark Newman (University of Michigan) [abstract]
– Salvatore Torquato (Princeton) [abstract]
– Lenka Zdeborova (CEA/Saclay, France) [abstract]

Soft-matter, polymer, and biological physics
– Ivet Bahar (University of Pittsburgh) [abstract]
– Marina Guenza (University of Oregon) [abstract]
– Normand Mousseau (Universite de Montreal, Canada) [abstract]
– Marcus Mueller (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany) [abstract]
– Mark Robbins (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore) [abstract]
– Celeste Sagui (North Carolina State University) [abstract]

Materials science and nano science
– Caterina Cocchi (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany) [abstract]
– Markus Eisenbach (Oak Ridge National Lab) [abstract]
– Luca Ghiringelli (Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin, Germany) [abstract]
– Hsin Lin (National University of Singapore) [abstract]
– Volodymyr Turkowski (University of Central Florida) [abstract]
– Lin-Lin Wang (Ames Lab, Iowa State University) [abstract]

Fluid dynamics, turbulence, nano-fluidics, magnetohydrodynamics
– Marc Gerritsma (TU Delft, Neatherlands) [abstract]
– George Karniadakis (Brown University) [abstract]
– Chun Liu (Penn State University) [abstract]
– Monika Nitsche (University of New Mexico) [abstract]

Quantum many-body physics
– Federico Becca (SISSA, Trieste, Italy) [abstract]
– Philippe Corboz (ETHZ, Zuerich, Switzerland) [abstract]
– Ribhu Kaul (University of Kentucky) [abstract]
– Corinna Kollath (University of Bonn, Germany) [abstract]
– Boris Svistunov (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) [abstract]
– Tao Xiang (Institute of Physics, Beijing, China) [abstract]

Quantum Computing
– Sergio Boixo (Google) [abstract]
– David Clader (Johns Hopkins University) [abstract]
– Bryan Clark (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) [abstract]

Lattice field theory in particle and nuclear physics
– Simon Catterall (Syracuse University) [abstract]
– William Detmold (MIT) [abstract]
– Taku Izubuchi (Brookhaven National Lab) [abstract]
– Frithjof Karsch (Bielefeld University, Germany) [abstract]
– Aida El Khadra (University of Illinois) [abstract]
– John Negele (MIT) [abstract]

Astrophysics, space-plasma physics, gravitation, cosmology
– Mike Boylan-Kolchin (University of Maryland) [abstract]
– Claude-Andre Faucher-Giguere (Northwestern University) [abstract]
– Christian Ott (Caltech) [abstract]
– Deirdre Shoemaker (Georgia Tech, Atlanta) [abstract]

Novel hardware and software paradigms
– Norbert Attig (Juelich Supercomputer Centre, Germany) [abstract]
– Martin Berzins (University of Utah) [abstract]
– Thomas Cheatham, III (University of Utah) [abstract]
– Ying-Jer Kao (National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan) [abstract]
– Lars Koesterke (Texas Advanced Computing Center) [abstract]
– Erik Schnetter (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Waterloo, Canada) [abstract]

Computational-physics education
– Ruth Chabay (North Carolina State University) [abstract]
– Francisco Esquembre (Universidad de Murcia, Spain) [abstract]
– Shobhana Narasimhan (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre, Bangalore India) [abstract]
– Beate Schmittmann (Iowa State University) [abstract]
– Spencer Wheaton (University of Cape Town, South Africa) [abstract]